Tony Romo: Saying goodbye to a legend

I grew up in a football driven household. My dad a Dallas Cowboys fan and my mom a Miami Dolphins fan. However, as I got older I stuck with the Dallas Cowboys. I remember being highly invested in sports from a young age.

There was this game I remember seeing my dad watch when we were in Orlando at the Nickelodeon Hotel about to check out, but he couldn’t pull away from the TV because it was an important game. I don’t know what exactly happened, but the Cowboys lost that game. When I mentioned this memory to him recently, he said that if they had won that game it would’ve taken them to the Super Bowl.

As I got older, I got more invested in the team especially at the beginning of high school and had been there through the highs and the lows these pasts few years. From a mediocre season in 2013 (8-8), to a great 2014 season (12-4), a really low 2015 season (4-12) and an outstanding, almost Super Bowl worthy 2016 season (13-3).

One thing that stayed consistent throughout was starting quarterback, Tony Romo. He was the only QB I knew all these years. Despite his injuries through the seasons, he was still a vital part of this team. It was a shocking moment to wake up to the news this morning that he will be in fact retiring from the NFL due to trading issues with other teams and putting his health first.

Romo was the heart of the Cowboys Nation, giving his 100% every time he was on the field. His teammates looked up to him for having this deep passion for the game of football. He is someone new starting quarterback, Dak Prescott, looks up to now that he has filled Romo’s shoes. It’s bittersweet, but we’ll still see Romo on CBS as a sports anchor and a big change in coming to Dallas. The 2017 football season will be the most interesting yet.

Below is Tony Romo’s best moments in the NFL and him introducing his new gig:

Leave a Reply

